TAFISA Jürgen Palm Award recognises Tibor Navracsics’ commitment to Sport

  • Award, TAFISA, Navracsics

EuropeActive’s president, Sir Graham Watson, attended the TAFISA Jürgen Palm Award Ceremony on Tuesday 5th February 2019 at the Representation of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia to the European Union. The organisation honoured European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport Tibor Navracsics with the Jürgen Palm Award.

The Jürgen Palm Award, TAFISA’s most prestigious recognition was awarded to Mr. Navracsics for his remarkable contribution to the growth of the international Sport for All Movement. The Ceremony started with a warm welcome from TAFISA Vice President, Peter Barendse, who praised Commissioner Navracscics "for his outstanding contribution to the growth of the international Sport for All Movement".  

During his acceptance speech, Commissioner Navracsics shared that "the nicest surprise in my experience as Commissioner was to see how committed and positive the sport family was". Commissioner Navracsics commented that he feels "honoured to receive the TAFISA Jürgen Palm Award! I am proud of the progress we have made in promoting sport & physical activity in our communities & encouraging more people from all backgrounds to be active."

The Jürgen Palm Award is handed every two years to selected individuals who have made a significant and long-term contribution to the field of international Sport for All and physical activity. Former awardees include, among others, late ICSSPE President, Professor Margaret Talbot, IOC Member, Mr. Sam Ramsamy, UN Secretary General, Mr. Ban Ki-Moon, and former ENGSO President, Bengt Sevelius.