who we are
The EuropeActive Board is there to represent the stakeholders and their memberships

Honorary Members

Honorary Members


Harm B Tegelaars

Honorary Member and Immediate Past President of EuropeActive

Harm was the original creator of the Cannons Group (now Nuffield Health) in the UK and was one of the founder members of the Fitness Industry Association in 1998 and was its Chairman for 15 years. In October 2005 Harm was named the European Club Operator of the Year by the International Health Racquet & Sports club Association (IHRSA) in recognition of his achievements.

In 2007 he was elected President of the newly energised European Health and Fitness Association (EHFA) and set about establishing a central office in Brussels and directing a strategic plan to make EHFA the recognised and respected Association for the fitness sector at a European level. After 8 years as the elected President Harm stood down in April 2015 with EHFA having changed its name to EuropeActive. As a highly respected businessman and linguist Harm steered the course for EHFA and EuropeActive to the point where it has developed effective policies and concepts to protect and promote fitness alongside delivering high quality events and standards to help in professionalising the sector.

The Board of Directors and delegates of the General Assembly in 2015 had no hesitation in recognising Harm’s very significant contribution by making him an honorary member, and in wishing him good health to spend some time with his family.


Dr. Charles M.E. Eugster

(26 July 1919 - 26 April 2017)

Dr. Charles M.E. Eugster was born in London and educated at St. Paul’s School, London. He represented his school in rowing, rugby and boxing. He had degrees from London University (Guy’s Hospital), Zurich University, Northwestern University (Chicago) and Heidelberg University, in Dental Surgery. He was Instructor at Zurich University Dental School and was a dental practitioner in private practice until the age of 75. He published an international dental newsletter until the age of 82.

As an international competitive oarsman he won over 100 prizes. He rowed in Henley 1938, 1939 and 1945 and is a member of Leander B.C. During his last 13 years of competition he won gold every year in World or Euro Masters Rowing Regattas. In Vienna 2009 he was honoured with a trophy by the FIFA as the first oarsman ever to have competed in a World Masters Regatta at the age of 90.

In the field of general fitness he was Strenflex World Champion 2008 and Swiss Champion 2009.

Dr. Eugster was known internationally through TV, press, talk shows, panel discussions, lectures, etc. in the field of training, fitness and bodybuilding in old age.


Dr John Searle

Dr John Searle worked in the national Health Service in the UK as an anesthesiologist and critical care physician for 25 years. However, he had to take early retirement in his mid-fifties as he had developed rheumatoid arthritis (RA).

While the disease was reasonably well controlled with drugs, structured progressive exercise was so beneficial that after a year he was able successfully to climb Mount Kilimanjaro. At the age of 63 he qualified as a personal trainer and fitness instructor and thereafter developed a practice working mainly with older people and patients with a range of chronic diseases.

John served as chief medical officer to ukactive (Fitness Industry Association) in the UK where he advises the fitness sector on exercise in the management of disease and is working with the medical profession, exercise science academics and the Department of Health in Britain to establish exercise as a normal part of healthcare.


Prof Alfonso Jimenez

Prof Dr Alfonso Jiménez announced in 2012 that he was taking a new posting as the Professor and Head of the School of Sports & Exercise Sciences at Victoria University, Melbourne, Australia. Having given three fantastic years of standards development work to EHFA, which has laid-down the bedrock of how we can professionalise and improve the quality of our training and services we offer, Alfonso was awarded Honorary Membership.